Driving under the influence of alcohol is potentially very dangerous, though you might get off with little more than a small fine if an officer catches you driving strangely. It is another story entirely when your impaired driving causes injury to another individual.
Receiving a DUI, sometimes known as an operating while intoxicated (OWI) charge in Wisconsin, is not something to take lightly even at the best of times. If someone sustains an injury in a DUI-related crash, it is important for you to know the impact that the event will have on your future.
What are the penalties for a normal DUI?
A first-time DUI offense with no extraordinary circumstances is a civil offense for the purpose of determining penalties in the state of Wisconsin. This comes with a fine of up to $300 and the revocation of the driver’s license for up to 9 months. A high alcohol concentration at the time of the incident may call for enrollment in a sobriety program.
What are the penalties if a DUI involves an injury?
Injuring another person by operating a vehicle while under the influence is a Class F felony in Wisconsin. The fine for this degree of offense can reach $25,000 with the implication of at least 3 years in prison. On top of confinement, the guilty party will lose driver’s license privileges for an additional 2-3 years.
Driving while intoxicated is often the result of a thoughtless mistake, and the consequences may initially seem relatively light to match. When that mistake leads to the bodily harm of an innocent person, however, you face the possibility of life-altering implications that will follow you for many years to come.